BOOM, BOOM, Snap!

Boom! The sound of my car hitting the highway barrier at 100 km/h head-on. This after seeing a split second white flash in the corner of my eye before being sideswiped by what turned out to be a drunk driver. All this on a Saturday evening in pouring rain. Paramedics, ambulances, hospital visits x-rays and a totalled car later.

Boom! The sound of a car way over the speed limit on the wrong side of the road t-boning my sister’s car while he ran a red light. Also inebriated, but to such an extent that he passed out on his back seat and could not even remember the accident.
Two accidents, two totalled cars and all this in two days. (25 hours apart to be exact.) Granted, no serious injuries were sustained to me or my fiancé in either accident, or my sister in the second, and ironically both the other drivers walked off in a better state than we were.

The average person experiences two accidents of this nature in their lifetime. We experienced them in a space of 25 hours. Best thing, Tuesday when I got back to work, guess what the first comment was my neck brace invited? ‘You know bad things come in three’s.’ Oh ghee, thanks man, that is really what I would like to be focussing on right now…

Needless to say, I was faced with many challenging situations over the next month. People in general, search for meaning in situations like these. We look for purpose, intent and meaning. We are not able to live in a world where random things happen. It does not suit our makeup. It is in contravention with our very design.

I find my mind drifting to various elements looking for my own answers, my significance. I question everything I hold dear. It is easy to tell people God is Good, all the time until you find yourself in a situation where this becomes very hard to believe and understand.

I find it hard to believe God is my protector. I find my life gripped with fear every time I cross a green light or merge onto the highway or when it rains. Where is my peaceful God now? Where is His protection?

Snap! The revelation truth releases cannot be contained. I learned quite a few things through this process. Feel free to disagree, but this has restored the balance in my design. I now find it ironic how all of us tend to struggle with trusting people we do not know. Let me tell you, our entire society is built on trust. The only way traffic rules work is because we trust our fellow citizen’s to abide by them in the same way we do. I had firsthand experience of what happens in the odd scenario when this is not the case.

I attempted to eliminate this risk from my driving. Slowing down significantly before approaching an intersection and waiting till I’m sure the other driver is going to stop. You will be surprised to find how much travelling time this adds to your day.

The reality is that society requires trust in order to function effectively. A trust I have relearned since the accident. Another interesting anecdote I saw in action is the perceived safety people experience in the vehicles. I suppose it’s because we feel isolated from the world. It lulls us into a false sense of security. Breeds invincibility in our demeanour that affects the way we drive. I believe this is similar to the way we approach life. Isolation, however false it may be, makes us feel invincible and reckless.

All this is not really the point. These are some observations I made after having my perspective changed. I realised that God is good, all the time. It is so important that I tie this down in the fiber of my being to ensure the enemy does not create fear and doubt. Weapons he is a master of. Don’t take my word for it. Let us look at the text. “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” Rom. 8:28  “For our battle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the world powers of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavens. Eph. 6:12

What I realised is that bad things do happen to good people. As much as we want to blame God for it (evidence of our immaturity that caused this whole mess). We need to realise that all these things happen because we are not exercising the authority given to us by God. He has given us the keys to the Kingdom. If things are awry in the Kingdom, how can we blame the man who handed over the keys?Bad things happen

All these things are consequences of a broken system. Similar to ‘The Matrix’ where the malicious code is breaking down the system until there is nothing left and it self-destructs. We can choose which pill to drink. To live in ignorance of the battle in the spiritual realm, or to stand up as the chosen ones, grow into our authority and spiritual maturity to enforce our legal right and inheritance.

Should we choose to live in ignorance this will not make the battle disappear from anywhere except our consciousness, but the effects of this battle, it will be felt by all, whether active or passive.

This broken system is a consequence of me failing to stand in my authority. Failing to be the Godly example of manliness that I am meant to be. It will continue to worsen, until someone rises to the occasion to walk in the fullness of His design.

I have been given the keys to the kingdom. It’s time I started acting like a king.

Leave a Reply

