My Moral Substitute

I am a man of many talents. Of late I have found one to be of particular advantage. I have an uncanny capacity for spotting favourable circumstances that are exploitable for my benefit. My father always said; ‘God helps those who help themselves’.

I could not agree more. Friedrich Nietzsche reached an apt conclusion: “God is dead, and we killed him.” Who is ‘god’ if not some moral compass keeping our behaviours in check with socially acceptable norms? Morality is a dated construct specifically developed to subdue people to mediocrity to protect those whom Darwin would have condemned to extinction.

Be that as it may, I am pleased by how this is all turning out. Society is no longer ruled by morality. It is ruled by law. Law has become the yardstick by which morality is measured. You would agree this is a rather peculiar state of affairs. Law was meant to formulate structures within which morality already functioned to ensure these ‘norms’ where unanimous. Contrarily, it has created a moral vacuum. People are inherently more comfortable with structure than with the responsibility to consider the impact of their decisions, and even more so, the consequences of failure in such regard.

The ever-increasing attempt by society to regulate behaviour, constantly tightening the noose of free will, has inspired a move back to the structural. Morality became synonymous with ‘law abiding’. The enterprising individual that I am, this change has been long anticipated. As society attempts to create and enforce a certain moral code through legislation an inevitable phenomenon occurs, loopholes. When we try to create structure to a thing that should be driven by an internal force such as morals which caters for all the nuances we end up with an inadequate substitute. These loopholes allow me to ascribe to the philosophy I have supported all along. I am my morality. I am what is best for me.

Fortunately, many a soul has been duped into this state of mediocrity by conforming to the guidelines of this unnaturally imposed morality. This creates the opportunity to conduct my matters on the letter of the law, protecting my social rapport and ‘morality’ yet also allowing me the benefit of getting ahead in the race.

My morality is both socially acceptable and to my absolute benefit. Only a fool competes when he is unsure of absolute victory. I tip the tables in my favour.

I do realise that this inevitably ends in one of two ways. Either people will start catching on and eliminate my competitive advantage, in which case I will be so far ahead that it will be of little consequence. Besides, there is always another opportunity waiting. Or people will realise the folly of this approach and decide to take their morals seriously in which case society will expect individuals to act in the spirit of the law rather than the letter.

I’d bet their revealed folly would convert them to my superior logic. What are we other than self-concerned?

*This is an exploratory essay into ‘diabolical ventriloquism’

tumblr_mv30ykgO0A1sl43jco1_r1_1280

 

2 comments

  1. ivanskovi · February 5, 2015

    So true… We judge by right vs. wrong; punishable vs. reputable. This brings more and more merit to the hedonistic calculus principle. It doesn’t take an expert to figure out what that type of thinking has done to our society.

    The better alternative? Good vs. evil. A line of thinking that goes beyond myself and my pleasure and actually takes the full consequences of my actions into account and puts me in a position where I WANT to take the course of action that will bring out the best in others

    • messenger · February 6, 2015

      I coudn’t agree more. This is precisely why our Father ended the old agreement and changed it for something new. The consideration becomes rather what is good for me and what is not.

      Surely such an arrangement is to our benefit, yet somehow we continue to choose the law over intimacy.

Leave a Reply

